You are here

An Infopeople Short Format Course

Start:
July 12th, 2016 12:00 PM
End:
July 25th, 2016 4:30 PM
Pricing
California $ 75.00
Out-of-state $ 150.00

Please note: Infopeople course fees are changing, effective July 1, 2016. See this page for more info.

Course Instructor:  Laura Solomon 

Updated for 2016! Ever wondered if there's a better way to do something? Chances are that someone else wondered the same thing and had a brilliant idea for creating a freely available online service. Many of these useful online tools remain "under the radar" and unknown to most. This short format course will focus on introducing learners to many different kinds of useful and little known online tools. One of the tools that will be highlighted is IFTTT, including new features. Never heard of IFTTT? We’ll explore how it just might make your work life better.

During the course we’ll be covering a number of useful online tools that can help make:

  • You more productive
  • Graphic design easier
  • Social media work more streamlined
  • A library website more appealing and engaging

Course Description: During the course, you will participate in two online meetings that are integral to the completion of this short format course. In these meetings, the instructor will highlight useful tools and provide scenarios to help describe their value in a library environment. In addition to the online meetings, the instructor will provide readings, with resources and useful tips and techniques that can be applied immediately. You will use online tools to complete projects that are relevant to you, your library, and your community.

Online Meetings:
July 14, 2016 at 10 AM Pacific/11 AM Mountain/Noon Central/1 PM Eastern
July 21, 2016 at 10 AM Pacific/11 AM Mountain/Noon Central/1 PM Eastern

Note: Please ensure that you are able to attend these two meetings before enrolling in the course.

Course Outline: When you log in to the Infopeople online learning site, you will see weekly modules with these topics:

  • Module 1: IFTTT and Productivity
    • Sample recipes for IFTTT (if this then that)
    • Productivity Tools
  • Module 2: Visuals, Web Work, and More
    • Online tools that can assist with graphic design work
    • Services to assist with social media work
    • Services that can assist with web sites

Time Required: To complete this course, you can expect to spend 3 hours per module, for a total of six course hours. Each module contains readings, an online meeting, and various options for projects. You can choose the options most relevant to your work and interests. Although you can work on each module at your own pace, at any hour of the day or night, it is recommended that you complete each week's work within that week to stay in sync with other learners.

Who Should Take This Course: Library staff at any level interested in increasing productivity, better handling workflow, improving communication, and connecting with library users.

Online Learning Details and System Requirements may be found at: infopeople.org/training/online_learning_details.

Learner Requirements: None

Course Start: This short format course starts on Tuesday, July 12, 2016.

After the official end date for the course, the instructor will be available for limited consultation and support for one more week, and the course material will stay up for an additional week after that. These extra weeks give those who have fallen behind time to complete the course.

Keywords: Computer skills, Planning, Technology

Help spread the word about this event!

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: Free and Little-Known Online Tools (That You Didn't Know You Needed)


You can also share the link below in an email or on your website.
https://infopeople.org/civicrm/event/info?id=588&reset=1