You are here

An Infopeople Webinar

Resource page for this webinar

4:00-5:00 PM Eastern/3:00-4:00 PM Central/2:00-3:00 PM Mountain/1:00-2:00 PM Pacific

Presenters:

Veronda Pitchford, Assistant Director, Califa (moderator)

Felicia Kelley, Project & Evaluation Director, California Humanities

Bobbi Luster, Branch Manager, Truckee Library, Nevada County Community Library

Curita Tinker, Library Assistant, Haskett Branch, Anaheim Public Library

Denise Lopez Gomez, Branch Manager, Coachella Library

At a time when so many immigrants and refugees are experiencing insecurity, fear, isolation, and hostility, public libraries can serve as centers of civility, hospitality, and inclusion. Learn more about how a group of California libraries and library workers are employing the arts and humanities to welcome newcomers from many cultural backgrounds to communities large and small, urban and rural, across the state.

In this 60 minute conversational session, recent participants in the Library Innovation Lab: Exploring New Ways of Engaging Immigrant Communities through Public Humanities Programming (LIL) program will share what they've learned through this nationally-recognized hybrid professional development and public programming initiative of California Humanities, now in its sixth year. Incorporating practical tips and advice for working effectively with immigrant communities, we will also touch on topics such as virtual programming, building relationships with community partners, creative marketing, and using Design Thinking techniques to develop user-oriented programs.

The session, moderated by Veronda Pitchford of Califa, will incorporate Q&A and opportunities for attendee participation.

At the end of this session, attendees will:

  • Understand the importance of meeting the socio-emotional and ideational as well as practical needs of immigrants
  • Become familiar with a range of successful public humanities programming models, both virtual and in-person, that have been “field-tested” by LIL libraries
  • Gain valuable insights into how to establish and build relationships with individuals and organizations in immigrant communities, cultivate broader community connections, and promote teamworking at your library

This webinar will be of interest to: Library workers with public programming responsibilities at all levels of their organizations; library administrators and library support organizations looking for programming models; California library workers interested in participating in the LIL 2022 cohort.

Webinars are free of charge, you can pre-register by clicking on the Register Now button on this page. 

To check your system's compatibility with Zoom and/or download software for your computer/tablet/smartphone, see this page.

 

Presentation Materials

Resource page