You are here

An Infopeople Short Format Course

Start:
December 1st, 2015 12:00 PM
End:
December 14th, 2015 4:30 PM
Pricing
California $ 55.00
Out-of-state $ 110.00

Course Instructor: Beth Gallaway 

  • Would you like to make your library data more interesting, compelling and memorable by presenting it visually?
  • Do you want to spice up your monthly or annual report by turning paragraphs of text or columns of numbers into a format that is easy to understand?

Infographics can be used to visually tell the story of your library's data and this short format course will provide you with the tools, techniques, and practical advice you need to create them. First, you will learn to harness the power of Excel and WordArt to make simple charts and graphs. Then your instructor will help you discover free web tools and resources that can be used to develop graphics and icons. Finally, you'll turn a portion of a library report into an infographic and brainstorm ways to use infographics at your library in the future as well.

*Our short format courses are customized to the topic, designed to be started and completed in two weeks and offer practical knowledge and information that can be put to use immediately.

Course Description: Through a combination of two live online meetings, independent assignments, and online discussions, you'll discover how to visually present library information and data. Using Excel, WordArt, and Venngage, you will apply the skills and concepts learned to create an infographic for your own library and community.

Online Meetings
Meeting One: December 3, 2015 at 3:00p.m. Pacific Time/4:00p.m. Mountain Time/5:00p.m. Central Time/6:00p.m. Eastern Time
Meeting Two: December 10, 2015 at 3:00p.m. Pacific Time/4:00p.m. Mountain Time/5:00p.m. Central Time/6:00p.m. Eastern Time

Note: Please make every effort to ensure that you are able to attend these two meetings before enrolling in the course. If this is not possible, archived recordings will be made available.

Course Outline: When you log in to the Infopeople online learning site, you will see weekly modules with these topics:

  • Week 1: Using Microsoft tools to develop infographics
    • What are infographics?
    • Why use infographics to represent library data or information?
    • Excel tutorial videos
    • WordArt tutorial videos
  • Week 2: Using Web Tools to create Infographics
    • Graphic design basics (as they relate to infographics)
    • An overview of web tools for creating infographics
    • Using Venngage

Pre-course Assignment: None

Time Required: To complete this course, you can expect to spend 2½ hours per week, for a total of five course hours. Each week's module contains an online meeting, readings, and various options for assignments and discussions. You can choose the options most relevant to your work and interests. Although you can work on each module at your own pace, at any hour of the day or night, it is recommended that you complete each week's work within that week to stay in sync with other learners.

Who Should Take This Course: Library directors, library staff responsible for report writing, public relations/marketing staff

Online Learning Details and System Requirements may be found at: infopeople.org/training/online_learning_details.

Learner Requirements: Learners should be have basic familiarity with Microsoft Excel and be comfortable exploring software such as Microsoft WordArt and online applications.

After the official end date for the course, the instructor will be available for limited consultation and support for two more weeks, and the course material will stay up for an additional two weeks after that. These extra weeks give those who have fallen behind time to work independently to complete the course.

Keywords: Technology