You are here

An Infopeople Short Format Course

Start:
November 5th, 2019 12:00 PM
End:
November 18th, 2019 4:30 PM
Course fee $ 150.00

Lauren HaysInstructor: Lauren Hays

  • Do you want to foster life-changing learning opportunities?
  • Would you like to help youth embrace learning by following their interests and connections?
  • Are you interested in helping youth develop their own personal learning pathways?

Connected learning is at the intersection of relationships, opportunities, and personal interests. It is the idea that libraries can support youth by connecting to them in various ways and with various resources.

Join Dr. Lauren Hays and discover ways to connect youth with interests, peer-relationships, and new opportunities. The course will include numerous examples that embody the values and elements of connected learning (including, for example, YOUmedia, the digital makerspace for youth in Chicago’s main downtown public library.)

At the end of the course, you will be able to:

  • Define connected learning.
  • Identify connected learning opportunities in your library.
  • Apply connected learning principles to library programming and services.
  • Design a connected learning program for youth.

Note: Our short format courses are customized to the topic, designed to be started and completed in two weeks and offer practical knowledge and information that can be put to use immediately.

Course Description: This two-week online course will provide an opportunity to learn about connected learning and to apply the concepts to your library setting. The instructor will provide resources, best practices, and useful tips and techniques that can be applied immediately. During the course, you will participate in discussion forums and online meetings. You will have the opportunity to share your experiences and questions with the instructor and with other learners in the course.

Online Meetings:

  • Meeting One: 11/8 at 11 AM Pacific/Noon Mountain/1 PM Central/2 PM Eastern
  • Meeting Two: 11/15 at 11 AM Pacific/Noon Mountain/1 PM Central/2 PM Eastern

Note: Please make every effort to ensure that you are able to attend these two meetings before enrolling in the course. If this is not possible, archived recordings will be made available.

Course Outline: When you log in to the Infopeople online learning site, you will see weekly modules with these topics:

  • • Week 1: What is connected learning and how does it apply in your library?
    • o Define connected learning
    • o Identify connected learning opportunities in your library
  • • Week 2: Implementing connected learning in your library
    • o Apply connected learning principles to library programming and services.
    • o Design a connected learning program for youth.

Pre-course Assignment: None.

Time Required: To complete this course, you can expect to spend 3 hours per week, for a total of six course hours. Each week's module contains an online meeting, readings, and various options for assignments and discussions. You can choose the options most relevant to your work and interests. Although you can work on each module at your own pace, at any hour of the day or night, it is recommended that you complete each week's work within that week to stay in sync with other learners.

Who Should Take This Course: Library staff who work with teens and in Youth Services.

Are you a member of ARSL? If so, you may be able to sign up for a free seat in this course. Limit is four free seats per course. Make your request here and if a free seat is available you will be notified.

Online Learning Details and System Requirements may be found at: infopeople.org/training/online_learning_details.

Help spread the word about this event!

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: Connected Learning in Libraries


You can also share the link below in an email or on your website.
https://infopeople.org/civicrm/event/info?id=870&reset=1