You are here

An Early Learning with Families (ELF) Webinar

Start Time: Pacific - 1 PM, Mountain - 2:00 PM, Central - 3:00 PM, Eastern - 4:00 PM

Michelle RandallPresenter: Michelle Randall, PhD, Head of Research and Evaluation, Bay Area Discovery Museum (BADM)

Research shows clear benefits for children who have the opportunity to engage in risky play such as play at great height, high speed, around dangerous elements (water, trees), including rough and tumble play, and/or with the ability to disappear/get lost. A few of those associated benefits are a decrease in depression and anxiety, better competence with perceiving and assessing risk, and better physical health, self‐esteem, social competence, and conflict resolution. This workshop will focus on risk‐friendly learning: what it means, the research behind it, how to support it in your library, and why it is important for children and youth experiences.

This topic is based on the Bay Area Discovery Museum's CREATE Framework. You can read more about this program in the BADM's Creative Summer Learning Experiences Booklet.

Questions? Please contact Christian Theyer, Early Learning with Families Project Manager, at [email protected]

The Early Learning with Families (ELF) project is supported in whole or in part by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered in California by the State Librarian.


Presentation Material


Speaker's slides